Level 5 NVQ Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice


£ 1,795 + VAT


  • Typology

    NVQ Level 5

  • Methodology

    Distance Learning

  • Duration


  • Start

    Different dates available

  • Support service



The revised Level 5 NVQ Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice (3654 – 06) has recently been released by City & Guilds. This qualification is for learners who wish to develop their skills and knowledge in managing health and safety for the workplace. You will have an autonomous role in your organisation for managing health and safety policy and practice. You will report directly to, or be part of the senior management team. You will recommend and implement changes relevant to your role and will be aware of cost implications and budgetary control.




Distance Learning


Different dates availableNow taking bookings

To take into account

The Level 5 NVQ Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice is the UK’s premier vocational qualification designed specifically for safety professionals who want to attain chartered status of IOSH (CMIOSH) through a practical, evidence-based route as opposed to an academic course. It is intended for those who wish to forge a career in health and safety as advisors, managers or consultants.

There are no entry requirements, but candidates must be aged 19 or over and will need to demonstrate they can produce evidence across the standard by completing our initial assessment prior to being accepted on to the programme.

The qualification meets the academic requirements for Graduate Membership of IOSH. With additional experience and initial professional development, those who get the diploma can also attain Chartered Safety Practitioner status. Note that candidates who wish to obtain CMIOSH status via exams should consider taking the NEBOSH National Diploma.

Questions & Answers

Who do you want to respond to your question/enquiry?

We will only publish your name and question

Fee terms?
-hello friend! you should click on the Request button and ask for this.
1 respuesta | Reply

Achievements for this centre


All courses are up to date

The average rating is higher than 3.7

More than 50 reviews in the last 12 months

This centre has featured on Emagister for 11 years


  • Communication Systems for Health and Safety Information
  • Positive Health and Safety Culture
  • Developing and Maintaining Health and Safety Competence
  • Risk Control
  • Risk Assessment
  • Development & Implementation of Proactive Monitoring Systems
  • Health and Safety Emergency Response Systems
  • Health and Safety Review Systems
  • Health and Safety Audit
  • Behavioural Safety

Teachers and trainers (1)

Jon  Knowles

Jon Knowles

NVQ Assessor and OAL Programme Coordinator

Course programme

Initial Assessment and Induction

Before starting these programmes, we require delegates to complete a Self Assessment and Personal Action Plan to identify:

  • Specific training needs
  • Support and guidance requirements
  • Units that have already been completed or existing credits that have been accumulated

This form will help you to establish whether you require any additional training in order to complete the units. If necessary, you will need to develop a plan with your manager to gain competence in the relevant areas before attempting the units.

Course Duration

The time it takes you to complete the course is entirely up to you. On average, it takes delegates between 15 and 18 months. However, some candidates manage to complete within a year, while others take longer than 18 months. Additional support can be purchased should you require more time to complete your qualification.


There are 11 individual units that you must complete if you wish to achieve the full diploma. Should you wish to reach Graduate Membership and follow the Chartered Membership route through IOSH, you will need to complete an additional unit which IOSH require (unit 611 - Professional development and ethics in health and safety management).

The 11 Mandatory units are as follows:

  • 402 Develop and implement effective communication systems for health and safety information.
  • 510 Promote a positive health and safety culture.
  • 511 Develop and maintain individual and organisational competence in health and safety matters.
  • 512 Control health and safety risks.
  • 513 Develop and implement proactive monitoring systems for health and safety.
  • 514 Develop and implement reactive monitoring systems for health and safety.
  • 515 Develop and implement health and safety emergency response systems and procedures.
  • 516 Develop and implement health and safety review systems.
  • 517 Develop and implement a health and safety audit.
  • 518 Behavioural safety in the workplace.
  • 610 Develop and implement the health and safety policy.

The mandatory unit for Graduate Membership recognition and Chartered Membership route:

  • 611 IOSH Mandatory Unit - Professional development and ethics in health and safety management.

Once you have completed these units, you will be awarded a certificate to demonstrate competence to the national standard. Your City and Guilds Level 5 NVQ Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice certificate will detail all the individual units you have completed as part of your overall programme.

Additional information

Location As the qualification is work based, the NVQ Level 5 Diploma can be undertaken anywhere in the UK. Inductions will be provided by your appointed assessor, either face to face, via telephone or through electronic media (depending on your location). Opportunities to meet the assessment/support team in person are available throughout the time you are on the programme. The dates will be communicated to you and are offered at the following centres around the UK three times per annum: Bristol London Manchester Walsall

Call the centre

Level 5 NVQ Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Practice

£ 1,795 + VAT